Chamber music

Takács Quartet

Cal Performances

Berkeley, CA, United States

This is a past event.

If you’re interested in other events like this, sign up and follow artists, organizations or your favorite works.

Then we will notify you in time so you don’t miss out!

Sign up


Winner of last year’s Gramophone Award in the Chamber Music category, the renowned Takács Quartet never fails to thrill in its Berkeley recitals. The hidden gem on the ensemble’s first 2022–23 program is Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel’s sole quartet of 1834, a bold, inventive, and distinctive work unperformed in her lifetime and forgotten until the score was discovered in the 1980s. This fascinating composition is bookended by Haydn’s ebullient final quartet and the first of Beethoven’s late-period quartets. “What endures about the Takács Quartet, year after year, is how equally the four players carry the music” (The Guardian).


Recently viewed