Sax and Sibelius

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

Atlanta, GA, United States

This is a past event


Let the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra transport you into Nature’s realm with the rugged Symphony No. 2 by Jean Sibelius alongside the Overture to Der Freischütz by Carl Maria von Weber. In between, catch the U.S. premiere of a new saxophone concerto, For Wadada Leo Smith (2022), by jazz and classical multi-instrumentalist Tyshawn Sorey. The Atlanta Symphony Orchestra welcomes its former Associate Conductor Stephen Mulligan and solo saxophonist Timothy McAllister. Adagio (For Wadada Leo Smith) was commissioned by Lucerne Festival and the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra as part of "Amplifying Voices," a New Music USA initiative powered by the Sphinx Ventures Fund, with additional support from ASCAP and the Sorel Organization.


Recently viewed