Chamber music

Circadian String Quartet – Fanny and Felix

Old First Concerts

City, Country

This is a past event.

If you’re interested in other events like this, sign up and follow artists, organizations or your favorite works.

Then we will notify you in time so you don’t miss out!

Sign up


Circadian String Quartet tells the story of older sister Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel and her younger brother Felix Mendelssohn by presenting two masterworks for string quartet-Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel’s dramatic String Quartet in E flat major and Felix Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in F minor Op. 80. Fanny and Felix were both prodigiously talented musicians but were unequally supported and encouraged in their talents due to the prevalent sexism of the time to the point that many of Fanny’s compositions were errantly attributed to Felix. That this sexist treatment did not dampen their affection and respect for one another is born out by the fact that Op. 80 was composed by Felix as a loving “requiem for Fanny.” It turned out to be Felix’s last composition. Celebrate with us the enduring musicality and strong bond of this famous sister and brother-Fanny and Felix.

Recently viewed