Chamber music

Concert Program III


Atherton, CA, United States

This is a past event


Concert Program III begins with music by two of central Europe’s most distinct compositional voices. The program begins with Leoš Janáček’s haunting Violin Sonata, followed by the riveting Sonata for Solo Cello by György Ligeti. These preface a beloved work by one of Western music’s most hallowed masters: Johannes Brahms’s String Sextet in B-flat, composed in his twenty-seventh year, rings with a grand sonority, affirming what Robert Schumann heard in the young Brahms’s chamber writing as “veiled symphonies.”

Recently viewed