Chamber music

Danish String Quartet

Cal Performances

Berkeley, CA, United States

The sensational Danish String Quartet returns to perform the third concert in its ongoing Doppelgänger Project, pairing Schubert’s Rosamunde Quartet with a newly commissioned work by Icelandic composer Anna Thorvaldsdottir. Schubert’s serene and solemn quartet bears the weight of the composer’s declining health and heavy heart during the period of its composition—when he died a few years after its premiere, Rosamunde was his only quartet to have been performed publicly in its entirety; it was also his only chamber work published in his lifetime. Thorvaldsdottir is widely admired as one of the most original voices of her generation, praised for creating vast, visceral, and ravishing musical landscapes that conjure at once a sense of “immensity and intimacy” (Gramophone).


Recently viewed